Toonzaki @ New York Comic Con: Yu-Gi-Oh! Chalk Mural

September 30, 2010 at 8:25 pm | Posted in 4Kids, Other Stuff, Yu-Gi-Oh! | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Eric Maruscak's Yu-Gi-Oh! chalk mural sketch in progress
Yu-Gi-Oh! chalk mural sketch in progress.
(From video by pepperink4242, via Toonzaki Blog)

I already wrote about the Toonzaki crew attending the upcoming New York Comic Con, but this is so sweet that it deserves its own post. Take a look at a time-lapse video of chalk artist Eric Maruscak sketching the Toonzaki Yu-Gi-Oh! 10th Anniversary mural for the convention! The mural will be colored live throughout the three days of NYCC. I hope someone gets some great shots of the final piece!

Check out some of Maruscak’s other work on his website. Some of them are quite literally out of this world! I wonder if this Yu-Gi-Oh! mural is child’s play for him compared to the others. (See what i did thar?)

New York Comic Con will run from October 8 to 10 at the Jacob Javits Convention Center in NYC. Toonzaki will be there on all three days.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you for bringing more attention to my NY Comic Con Yu-Gi-Oh mural! I am glad to see people are looking forward to the art, I certainly know I am looking forward to making it. I expect it to take close to 30 hours to complete from start to finish.

    And to provide an answer to your inquiry, this certainly WON’T be child’s play. There is an amazing amount of tight detail and complexity throughout the artwork, and making it look accurate to the original will be a real challenge. People might be surprised to know that I am looking at this as one of the more difficult murals I’ve attempted recently.

    I’ll have shots of the finished mural on my website, as well as a time lapse video of the entire drawing from beginning to end.

    – Eric

  2. Thirty hours?! Goodness. The final product is going to be amazing! I can’t wait to see the time-lapse video of you working on it! Oh, and I was just kidding about the “child’s play” thing. Some people quip that Yu-Gi-Oh! is a serious show about a children’s game, so… yeah. ;)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.