New and Revised Pages, Plus a Schedule for Upcoming Updates

June 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm | Posted in Duel Monsters, HK DVD, Japanese, Site Updates, Yu-Gi-Oh! | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Hi, everyone. I’ve changed the look and content of both the FAQs page and the Episodes page. While updating and expanding the FAQs was one of the goals I had set for myself, deciding to change the layout of the Episodes page was something I only recently thought of doing. Basically, I wasn’t happy with the previous layout and I wanted to use the space on that page more productively.

The Episodes page now contains two new pieces of information for each link: the title of the episode and CRC value of the file. The episode title doesn’t need any explanation. A CRC value is a string of eight letters and/or numbers (e.g. 7C2BC331) serves as a “fingerprint” for a file. After you download a file, you can use a CRC checker (I like RapidCRC) to examine the file’s CRC value. If it matches the CRC value listed on the Episodes page, you downloaded a perfect file! If the CRC values don’t match, that’s not a good thing — it could mean that the download didn’t finish, or that your download got corrupted, or that there’s something wrong with the uploaded file. If this ever happens to you, let me know so that I can examine whether or not the problem is with the uploaded file. The majority of the uploaded episodes are listed on AniDB and I’ve checked their CRC values against those listed there to make sure they are correct.

Overall, I’m really happy with the new layout of the Episodes page. I originally wanted to use a table to display all of that information, but unfortunately, WordPress.com doesn’t really like tables, and it wasn’t showing up correctly. Hopefully, the page isn’t too cluttered or confusing as it is.

You’ll also notice that the Episodes page no longer contains a comment section at the bottom. I decided that the comments, together with the list of episodes, made the page too long. Up until recently, I was purging the comments every time I updated the Episodes page to prevent this from happening. To make up for the lack of comments on that page, I made a new page exclusively for comments — the Talk Page! Yay!

The FAQs page now contains more questions and answers, and organizes everything into convenient sections. If you have a question that isn’t answered there, you can still always ask me! Maybe I’ll add it to the FAQs!

Now, you’re probably thinking, “All of this is great, but where are the rest of the episodes?” Don’t worry, I hear you. Ever since I made the decision to post links to the HK DVD episodes, I’ve gotten many emails from people thanking me, but also a few asking me why I update so infrequently, especially since many HK episodes can be found on YouTube and other places. Well, worry no more, because I’ve decided to step it up and speed things up. Here’s what I’ve decided on:

  • By Tuesday night (June 17): The rest of the Battle City Finals (eps. 135-144)
  • By Thursday (June 19): The Doma/Oreikhalkos Arc (eps. 145-184)
  • By Saturday (June 21): The KC Grand Prix Arc (eps. 185-198)
  • Next week: Episodes from the Egyptian Memory Arc that haven’t been fansubbed (eps. 210-212, 220-224)

How’s that sound? Now that I’ve publicly declared deadlines for myself, I hope I’ll feel more compelled to update.

Now, I’ll leave you with this, a screenshot from episode 140.

Screenshot from HK DVD episode 140

Apparently, Malik’s alter ego doesn’t like main characters. Heh. Too bad for Yuugi, or Kaiba, or Bakura. (Yes, this is a YGO: The Abridged Series reference.)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great work!
    Thank you very much for all your effort!

  2. Bakura IS a main character!

  3. @itachi2510
    Thanks! I hope I’ll be able to follow through with my schedule!
     
    @whitemagiciangirl
    Who’s Bakura? Never heard of him! ;)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.